SIGNS AND SYMPTOMS

---------------------------- 12/02/21 ---------------------------- Its time for my very first blog post, and what better topic than something I was thinking about this very day! I had finished my horrible shitty 3D modelling assignment and needed to clear my head + mitigate nicotine withdrawal, so I stepped out in my February Garb for my traditional 30 minute Smoke n' Walk.

As the months have gotten colder, the length of these excursions have decreased further and further since smoking in the cold sucks shit. Having your hands bare and holding a cigarette is a big red Target for ol' father west wind, you'll be dead in seconds unprotected! Several times I tried smoking while wearing gloves, and all I have are glove burn-marks to show for it. My solution to this is to do it Very Carefully.

Today I stepped out for this traditional 10 minute Smoke n' Walk, and it struck me that it was simply too fucking cold for this to be a regular occurrence! The elements themselves had conspired to prevent me from smoking. I took this as a Sign that I should quit smoking, but we have yet to see if Holy Determination can surpass Wanting a Cigarette. Probably not!

So anyway, this got me thinking about Signs. Since a few years(?) ago, in my efforts to better manage my mental health I started attempting to recognize certain states as I entered them based on my thought process.

"Ah, thoughts that I am despised? I am simply in a Social Anxiety mood that will eventually pass. Nothing has changed since I was once happy, happiness will come again eventually."

"Ah, my work on this music is going slowly. Instead of shittily slaving over it for hours on end, I will simply try and do something else (which I still have to do!) that perhaps this day is more suited for ',:^J."

This worked reasonably well! I still use such tactics to this day, though perhaps there's a more efficient means of doing so.

Anyway, I thought this was a kind of interpretation of Signs, perhaps.



- Homie Boon -----------------------------------------------------